Hey - Houston calling

Reaction score
Hi,
I hate to be a fair weather member - i am new to outside ponds, but decided to join and say hi and share my woes also.

I have had saltwater and coldwater indoor aquariums in my youth, but recently my wife and I bought a house that had a 2300 gallon pond with goldfish/koi in it.
We moved in early December 2013 and were loving the pond - it was a big reason why we chose the house.
The pond has been in the ground since 2000 apparently - the original owner of the house was a koi breeder...

After Christmas we started losing a lot of fish - began with over 40 - all different sizes - upto over 12 inches for some of the larger Koi.
As of today, January 8th we have 4 fish left - the largest of which a yellow/black Koi is in dire straits also.
Dont know what happened exactly, but it may have been self inflicted...

I am trying to nurse the fish along now - the weather doesnt help as its been below freezing a few times in the past days and I know that fish are going to have a tougher time getting out of being stressed in colder weather.

I dont know all of the equipment i have, but i do know i have a waterfall with multiple stone steps where the water enters the pond and there is a bottom drain where the water is pumped out by the pump/filter etc.

Its been a stressful couple of weeks - i wanted to say hi - before i started with the questions...

Hope all you guys/gals in the north are handling the much colder weather OK and that your fish make it through OK.

javid

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
May I ask first and foremost what all your water perameters are ?
Next when was the last time you did any filter maintenance i;e cleaning the filter media ?
If you have trees near the pond and they dropped them for the winter did any go into your pond , if so hy didnt you take them out or net your pond against this
How often do you do water changes on the pond?