Hi everyone! I'm new to this hobby/passion in the Fox Lake IL area

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello everyone - I'm grateful that there is a resource like this - Thank You!
We bought a house recently and it came with about 30 goldfish in a 20 ft by 10 ft by 28" deep pond with no-frills.

After keeping them alive this winter with a bubbler to keep a hole clear in the ice, I'd like to address the murky nature of the pond as we find it this spring.
I'm shopping for a pump and filter, but it is a dizzying array of products out there - many of them out of my league as I am recently retired and just bought a house.
I calculate 465 cu ft of volume and 3476 gallons.

I sort of know I want an external pump, but other then that I am still researching.
Oh, the pond has a crusty old waterfall pump and filter combo, which I suppose I can plug in to help them out while I try to locate a pump/filter combo I can afford.
Yes, I'm also shopping for a thermometer and water testing kit.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you so much!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Zone 5b
Welcome! I am not of much use when it comes to filters. I have a skimmer with two 4000GPH pumps that feed a header pond for the waterfall and stream. Lots of large rocks on the shelve with marginal plants but no actual filter. I am thinking of adding a bog filter this year but not sure I have the ambition needed to dig that much.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Save your money on the test kits and just bring a water sample to the local pet store. the kits go bad in time and my stores do not charge .