Living La Vida Loca!
Reaction score
On a gravel road,on a ridge, in Northeastern MO
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Hello from NEMO.

While I am a newbie to the forum, I am an old timer at pond building, having constructed three garden ponds in the past.

Currently, we have two man made ponds, the largest being an acre in size and a small lagoon, the latter being the reason for me joining the forum.

The focus of my pond building has changed towards supporting natural water habitats on our property.

Both large ponds are stocked with wild fish, large mouth bass (record size), green sun fish, turtles and various water critters.

I am hoping to rehab the lagoon into something a little different though. It is behind our barn and was created by the previous owner to water stock and hold run off from the barn roof. It was in a pretty sorry state when we bought the farm and we have spent the last 5 years trying to clean it up and make it a habitat for frogs and small fish.

Last summer, during the drought that affected much of the country, the lagoon dried completely and we saw that it really needed a good cleaning, so we got into it with our tractor and cleaned it out, removing a good foot of debris.

Now we are having trouble getting it to retain water. Oops. I think we killed it with kindness as the old saying goes.

So I'm here to find out how to rescue my lagoon. Does anybody out there have experience with clay bottom lagoons? Will the bottom recover or should we just drop a liner in it so it will retain H20 again? This is my first experience with clay bottomed ponds so I'm at a loss.

I'm not looking at it being completely full, just a foot or two of water would keep the frogs and turtles happy. 3 feet would be perfect. 4 feet would make me a very happy camper indeed.

Thanks in advance.

bosslady

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States