Hi, I am new at my pond hobby with a question about Water Lettuce

Susanna

Newbie Water Gardener and Fish Keeper
Reaction score
My Introduction:
I have about a 3000 gallon, rectangular, vinyl lined pond that was 5 years old before I became interested in it. It's under a few trees, mostly pine trees and had one lone water lily in it that my husband planted in an attempt to interest me a few years ago.
So, I began last year with a pond full of frogs and a water lily in need of some plant food, plus it was rather full of debris from years of tree stuff falling into it - but surprisingly clear.
I'd had an aquarium years ago and missed seeing the fish. After getting some more lilies planted and established last year, I began this summer with 3, 3" goldfish. After introducing them to the pond, I never saw them again! This was in March. By June, I thought they'd died so I put in 4 more, this time feeding them regularly whether I saw them or not. The feeding seemed to bring them all out after a week or so, giving me a lot of pleasure seeing goldfish again in a pretty water environment instead of an aquarium! By this time, I've added 4 more, 2 of which I still do not see often at all. My pond is covered about 60 percent with water lettuce (which I have to throw out every few weeks) and a huge water lily from years ago plus the smaller ones I just added this year and last. I have to assume the mystery fish are hiding there since they've not floated to the surface or showed up outside of the pond.

I thoroughly enjoy sitting on a bench beside my pond and watching the goldfish swim around and play. (I am retired and am not able to do the heavy vegetable gardening I'd done up until 2010.)

I came to this forum originally with a question regarding my water lettuce and whether it would live through our winters here in the Charlotte. NC area. (northern rural portion of the county, zone 7B)

This forum and this society seems to fit perfectly with my new hobby.