Hi, I'm new to ponding.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
I bought a house eighteen months ago that came with two ponds; sort of... I dug them both deeper and enlarged them and connected them with a stream. I now have a skimmer and waterfall. When I filled the ponds last year I lost level, and when I redid the rocks etc. this week, after refilling over night I lost 4-6" of level in both ponds. Is this normal or should I drain the ponds and look for a leak?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Welcome to our fun forum!!!
Did you look to make sure there isn't an edge where the water is going over? I'd say wait another day, and see if the pond level continues to go down. If not, then either 1) you have a leak close to the top or 2), there is a problem deeper. Keep in mind, after you fill it, if you then turn on filters, streams, etc., those areas take up lots of water. If you filled while everything was running, then you need to look for the reason for losing water. I had an area in my bog where a plant was up against the edge where the liner was too short (my mistake) and it was draining over the edge. I moved the plant, and lowered the level of the bog and it fixed the issue. So, check your outer edges really closely first. If your ground is dry, you should be able to see where the leak is, if it's near the top. Good luck!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
I checked all the exposed edges, no evidence of wet ground. before I redid the pond this week I pumped it out and vacuumed out the residual so everything was dry, removed all the rock from the stream checked the seams there and refilled the stream with nothing but river stone. So, if I have a leak it's in another area or the bottom.

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Welcome!