Hi , Question on shutting pump down ??

Reaction score
I have just made a account on here and been browsing threw previous post , i am extremely new to running a pond and no the very very basics . I have a 2600Litre pond with a 5000pump and 10000filter running on a little waterfall feature .I Live just outside of manchester, england and we are currently in a very cold snap been -16 during nights and -1 highs in the day time . i had no idea about this turning pump off business in the winter the waterfall has maintained a 10inch hole in the pond so i thiught that would be enough for the 9 gold fish i currently stock to get oxygen . any advice on basic pond running during the cold months .

thanks any advice would be a massive help

stroppy

stroppy
Reaction score
hi sharpy i too live in the UK down here in Essex, not quite as cold as you my worry is the waterfall might Freeze and divert the water from your pond ..any chance to can run a hose from your filter and by pass the waterfall ? or perhaps turn it all off and just use a pond deicer to keep a hole in the ice

Reaction score
Just been in the car and sure enough -16.5 its pure rank haha , I'm pretty sure work will be called off again tomorrow so if this is the case ill get down to the local aquatics centre and look into these deicers , what should I expect pay? I need re-hose the filter regardless got a drip so I wouldn't mind shutting it down . Got 15 inch of snow contend with here aswell .

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I have not gone through a bad winter with a pond yet, but my hubby had a very small pond at a rental that had goldies in it. They were hidden by a piece of wood. When he found it they were doing just fine, been ignored for 2-3 years winter and summer. Goldies tend to be pretty hardy. A guy I know in penna. has a pond with goldies and shubunkins in it, he lets his freeze over, the fish always do fine.