Hi there from Chicago

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a/5b
Hi there... I've been lurking here for a few months. This is my first year dealing with a pond--we bought a new house in October, so I'm currently dealing with the OMG winter panic of the pond freezing over. :) It is super-cold here in Chicago today--we have another 3 days or so of this extreme weather, so it's keeping me busy.

JBtheExplorer

Native Gardener
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Welcome! I know how you feel. I live just north of you and it is COLD!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
Welcome! It's cold here in Cincinnati too. I've got a pond breather, de icer and some air stones, in the pond.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome and it would helps us to know how to help you if we knew more like depth and how many fish and how big the pond is and what type of pump internal or external .

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a/5b
We have a pump that is submersed inside the skimmer box (as far as I can tell). Technically I guess it's external, but it's still submersed in water. The water returns to the pond via waterfall. The previous owner of the house said the pond is about 650-750 gallons. I'm thinking it is maybe 2-3" deep in the deepest area. We have 3 koi that are all a little over a foot long. They used to have 5 or 6 but they gave some away before they moved out.