Hiding waterfall sides/front with plants?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Hi everyone,

Currently I have cinder blocks stacked like stairs (3 steps if you want to call it) for my waterfall base... everything is flowing and running as I would like it. All i need to do now is cover the sides and liner with plants or rocks...
I had an idea in my head to build up some shelves with leftover slate pieces and place plants in pots on the slate to hide my waterfall set up.

Any ideas on what kind of bushy plants i can use to hide the sides? I know nothing of plants. I was going to go to home depot and browse today... but do you guys think it would work to hide the waterfall? Perhaps something along the lines of vines or whatever?

Sorry for the dumb question... i am new to all of this.

BTW--- I am in Zone 6 (NJ) Thanks!

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Iris's of all kinds
Lily's of all kinds
Sweet Flag Grass
Hostas
Creeping Jenny
Mint (very invasive)
Watercress

There are some ideas that would work in your zone. All can be planted directly in the water bare root wedged inbetween rocks or in pots placed in the water.

I am sure others will provide some more ideas :)

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I used artemisia and lambs ear nice and soft white silver color and come back every year .I just like the feel of them

ididntdoit99

ididntdoit99
Reaction score
i like elephant ears... you can get the mammoth variety and those leaves could cover up just about anything :) Big green leaf in the back side of the pond.

&--#60;div&--#62;[
&--#60;div&--#62;
&--#60;/div&--#62; &--#60;/div&--#62; &--#60;p&--#62; &--#60;/p&--#62;

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
The only thing once they die back in the fall you will see it all winter and not sure about what you could use that waould be evergreen besides evergreens of some sort

ididntdoit99

ididntdoit99
Reaction score