Horizontal bog filter (length instead of height)

Reaction score
Country
Netherlands
Fellow pond lovers!

Last year I got hit by the Koi flu! A few months ago I started digging in my garden as preparation for a koi pool. The 'hole' that i'm going to use is finished and has the following dimensions in metres: 2.40 wide, 1.80 deep and 4.40 in length.

The next step is to make a lay-out of the pool. Since I decided to use a bog filter as filtration, a significant part of the surface needs to be for filtration. The problem is that, because of factors, I can only use the lengths of the area. I came up with a concept of which I couldn't find anything on the forum. I hope some fellow pond lovers could answer my question or give some feedback on the layout.

I'm becoming a real koi, pond and bog hobbyist, but I'm still a beginner in all topics. I would love to receive some feedback from others.

Concept Layout
If you look at the basic (active) bog filters, you can find a certain basic. The dirty pool water starts at the bottom of the bog filter. After that, it is pumped up through some layers of rock. At the surface the water will be redirected to the pool as filtered water. In other words, the water is pumped from low to high.

In my layout, the water will be pumped through a horizontal line of chambers. Those chambers are filled with different sizes of rock and each chamber is connected through pipes or fences. The opening in the fences or the pipes are variably at the top and bottom of each chamber. There are 8 chambers in total and they are 30 centimetres (12 inches) high.

My doubts
I do not know however if this system can operate effective enough to filter the entire pool. The filter will be around 3.2 square metres and 1 cubic metre for the remaining pool size of 8.8 square metres and 14 cubic metre. It will cover around one third of the total pool surface. I hope another Koi or Bog filter fanatic can give their view on this concept.

My question