How do I do this?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello folks, I recently purchased a house with a small concrete pond in the back yard (5' circle and 2' deep) It was full of debris and the only sign of life were some frogs which I placed in an aquarium until I get this pond sorted out. My question is how do I set it up for coi fish and frogs. I've never had a pond so I have zero experience related to the matter. Any and really all help is greatly appreciated.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1643238492124.gif
@JohnnyOxentine
Oh boy are you gonna get lots of info on this subject for sure! First off I would stick w/goldfish as your pond needs to be a lot bigger for koi. Does the pond hold water w/o any leaks? Any sort of pump or filter in it? Do you have well water or city water? More peeps will want more info to help you. They will be here soon :)

Reaction score
Country
United States
Zero leaks thankfully, it was filled to the brim with water but sadly no drain. Zero water filtration but it did have a Jerry rigged fountain type thing going on and the house runs on city water. If gold fish are more appropriate for the size then that's what I'll do.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
To drain your pond you will need a pump attached to a hose to suck out the water. Any city water will need to be treated w/Pond Prime by Seachem or something similar to remove chlorine/chloramine. You'll need some kind of filter too. Frogs will come and go as they please.
There are some pretty goldfish out there. I like Shubunkin goldfish as they have patterns sometimes similar to koi w/the different colored areas.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States