How Many Tilapia Should I Get?

Reaction score
I've been tinkering with aquariums for over twenty years and fresh water ponds for the past eight years.

I've given some thought to now going one step further by starting a home based aquafarm. The kit I'm looking at includes a 400 gallon heavy duty plastic tank, air pump, water clarifier, biological filter, hydroponics tank for 24 plants, and sun grow light. Just in case anyone is interested, these kits are available through Aquatic Eco-Systems at: http://www.aquaticeco.com/subcategories/2181/The-Mini-Fish-Farm

Does anyone know how many tilapia I could raise in a 400 gallon tank? Please keep in mind that these would be food fish, not pets.

The entire concept of aquafarming is pretty cool. A covered tank holds the fish. The filter cleans the water and the fish waste products mixed with iron become food for the hydroponics stand

FF50-2_rgb.jpg

The stand is basically a shallow tank with a floating tray that accommodates Rockwool Cubes. Each cube is seeded with one vegetable. The roots grow down through the foam like cubes into the nutrient rich water.
FF50HT.jpg

An aquafarm can raise bass, bream, catfish, tilapia, and freshwater prawns (though not in the same tank) as well as organic vegetables and herbs.

I'm interested in raising tilapia because they mature pretty quickly. They go from fry to plate in just 11 months. Bream take about 1 1/2 to 2 years to mature and I've heard that trout take even longer.

One of the neat things about this is that I live in Arizona where the summer temperature has been reaching or exceeding 110 degrees. Even with mulch and heavy watering, a lot of my vegetables have been dying.

A hydroponics system would allow me to grow vegetables without having to worry about watering them or mulching them. For that matter, if I assemble this aquafarm indoors, I could enjoy fresh vegetables and fish throughout the year.