How Often Do Fry (goldfish) Need To Be Fed? And How Much?

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Yea! I have babies! I was able to "rescue" a dozen or so babies from the pond -- sizes ranging from eyelashes to the width of my pinkie fingernail (sorry, I'm not good at estimating sizes). I never caught the spawning.....or the eggs.....

I moved the fry to my indoor 20 gal. tank. I'm not doing anything special for them, mainly just giving them the chance to avoid being eaten. I do have a sponge over the filter intake, and I threw in a bunch of Hornwort and Ancharis from the pond to give them places to hide, [and I will siphon the bottom to keep it as clean as possible, but haven't started doing that yet].

I have been feeding them FIRST BITES food several times a day. What I'll do is moisten my finger tip, then touch my finger to the food -- that's the amount I'm giving them each time.

But want to know HOW MUCH and HOW OFTEN I should be feeding them? Whether it's live food or store-bought.....

Reaction score
To me fry should have food 24/7. It's the one time they can actually starve pretty fast. Plus I don't want to stunt their growth (I like big fish). In a perfect world live swimming food is best because it doesn't rot and is always available. If feeding dead food you really have to be careful with waste. 12 fry in 20 gal are going to miss a lot of food.

I consider raising fry to be a high fish load type deal mainly because of food waste. So cleaning and testing water often is my plan.

They're a lot of fun to watch grow (so fast), change color, and cool watching them eat live food.

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score