How to breed my koi

Discussion in 'Spawning' started by Bardebarde, Aug 2, 2017.

  1. Bardebarde

    Bardebarde

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have one make male and one female.but the problem is that the female is double the length then the male (almost double) so how should I breed them?never tried it before....

    Thanks
     
    Bardebarde, Aug 2, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Bardebarde

    DrCase Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,435
    Likes Received:
    759
    Location:
    Arkansas
    All you can do is put them together in the pond . When the time ,water temp & moon are right they will go at it during the morning hours .
     
    DrCase, Aug 2, 2017
    #2
    sissy and addy1 like this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Bardebarde

    Tula

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    3,023
    Likes Received:
    2,079
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    I do everything I can to stop mine, as I don't want a population explosion. They don't listen to me......hence my having to catch and rehome babies at the end of every summer :)
     
    Tula, Aug 2, 2017
    #3
    Jimmy Gibson, Gemma and sissy like this.
  4. Bardebarde

    Lisak1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3,792
    Likes Received:
    4,039
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Yup. When they decide they're ready, there's not a whole lot of stopping them. And relative size means nothing - large, medium, or small... they don't care.
     
    Lisak1, Aug 2, 2017
    #4
  5. Bardebarde

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    28,194
    Likes Received:
    11,882
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    My koi did not start breeding until they were around 5 years old .I guess they were not interested before that or they ate the eggs .
     
    sissy, Aug 2, 2017
    #5
  6. Bardebarde

    Meyer Jordan Tadpole

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    6,736
    Likes Received:
    5,191
    Location:
    Pensacola, Florida
    Both fish must be at least 2 years old. Nature will take care of the 'birds and bees stuff'.
     
    Meyer Jordan, Aug 2, 2017
    #6
  7. Bardebarde

    Gemma

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    385
    Same here!
     
    Gemma, Aug 2, 2017
    #7
    Tula likes this.
  8. Bardebarde

    mrfixer Mr. Fixer

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Northern Illinois
    I like when mine breed in 10 years only bread three times. I wonder why they don't breed every year?
     
    mrfixer, Aug 2, 2017
    #8
  9. Bardebarde

    Bardebarde

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    haha,you can give them to me!!
     
    Bardebarde, Aug 3, 2017
    #9
    DutchMuch and Tula like this.
  10. Bardebarde

    Bardebarde

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    just a question.the frogs or tadpoles or water snakes will eat the eggs...no?so should I put them into another place?or....?
     
    Bardebarde, Aug 3, 2017
    #10
  11. Bardebarde

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    28,194
    Likes Received:
    11,882
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    Tha is just population control .If every egg became a baby fish it would be wall to wall fish .They lay lots of eggs .
     
    sissy, Aug 3, 2017
    #11
    Bardebarde likes this.
  12. Bardebarde

    Bardebarde

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    I get it then.how much do you think these ones can give? They are really small,about a foot or smaller. 20170806_083147.jpg 20170806_083148.jpg
     
    Bardebarde, Aug 6, 2017
    #12
  13. Bardebarde

    Lisak1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3,792
    Likes Received:
    4,039
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Lots of the eggs will get eaten, yes - even by the very fish that created them. But that's OK - nature doesn't intend for every egg to live or you'd have a population explosion. Unless you plan to become a professional fish breeder, I would let nature take it's course.

    I will mention this - with no plants growing in your pond, you will likely never have babies survive. The best chance is for those that can hatch and take cover in plant roots or foliage in the water.

    Out of curiosity, why are you so interested in breeding your fish?
     
    Lisak1, Aug 6, 2017
    #13
    DutchMuch and Mmathis like this.
  14. Bardebarde

    Bardebarde

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    I had around 10fish before.
    They all died and I don't want them to die again.so I want to breed them to get little bit more ....when I had too many fish like once I had,I moved them ,I sell them,I can do many things to the extra fish.but once they all die..then I don't have any more.now I only have three..
     
    Bardebarde, Aug 6, 2017
    #14
  15. Bardebarde

    Lisak1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    3,792
    Likes Received:
    4,039
    Location:
    Northern IL
    Well, breeding them isn't a guarantee that they won't all die - and in fact, having too many fish in your pond may lead to exactly that result. Remind me - how big is your pond again?
     
    Lisak1, Aug 6, 2017
    #15
    Mmathis likes this.
  16. Bardebarde

    Bardebarde

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    10000-15000 litres
    Around 10-20 square miles.
     
    Bardebarde, Aug 7, 2017
    #16
  17. Bardebarde

    Mmathis TurtleMommy

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
    So, roughly, about 3000 gallons. How are you filtering the water?

    Do you know why your other fish died?
     
    Mmathis, Aug 9, 2017
    #17
    DutchMuch likes this.
  18. Bardebarde

    Bardebarde

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well,yes,that is why I got a filter.
    When I had my farm,the pond lasted without filter for several years.and one day one koi died,and within few weeks,many of them died.i asked my friend for the reason,he told me because they need oxygen.so after I put the filter,they stooped dying.
     
    Bardebarde, Aug 9, 2017
    #18
  19. Bardebarde

    Mmathis TurtleMommy

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8,054
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
    @Bardebarde I just read another thread from about a week ago. You had a koi that you thought had fungus. On your last note, you were still trying to catch the fish to get pictures. Is this one of the koi you are wanting to breed?

    I am getting the impression that you don't know a lot about koi ponds and fish-keeping. There is a reason that fish die, and when this happens [or when they get sick], there is often more than one thing that caused it.

    I asked a few question in your other thread [as did a few other members]. Could you please take a few minutes to give us some more information about your pond and about your experience? Before you start considering breeding fish, it's really important that you are familiar with the basics of keeping a healthy pond. We are here to help you, but you have to start at the beginning by starting with a healthy pond, healthy fish, and by having the knowledge .

    And PLEASE, don't think that I am trying to be mean to you or picking on you. Just the opposite! In order for us, here on the GPF, to help or give you any good advice, we have to know as much as we can about your pond's situation. And that means asking questions.

    Post as many pictures as you can, too -- that's a big help!

    Your pond is around 3000 US gallons
    1. How long has THIS pond [not another pond] been set up with a filter and with fish?
    2. How many [total] fish are in this pond?
    3. How deep is the pond?
    4. What kind of filter do you have? If you don't know, can you describe it and/or take a picture for us?
    5. Do you test your water for ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, pH? If you don't, please get a liquid [drops] test kit and test the water. Report the results in numbers.
    6. I can't tell what country you are from. What is the source of the water you use, and is it treated in any way to remove chlorine/chloramines?
    7. Have you added any new fish lately?
    8. Is there anything near you where people with koi [or other ornamental fish] have groups or clubs where they get together to talk about their hobby?
    9. ......and there are probably more questions, but don't want to overload you.
     
    Mmathis, Aug 9, 2017
    #19
  20. Bardebarde

    Bardebarde

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    4
    @Mmathis ,
    thank you for your post,yes,i don't think i have a lot of experience with it.
    but i do know the answer to your question,(or atlas i can try...)

    1. How long has THIS pond [not another pond] been set up with a filter and with fish?
    around 4 years.
    1. How many [total] fish are in this pond?
    four koi, with 5 cat fish.
    1. How deep is the pond?
    around a meter.
    1. What kind of filter do you have? If you don't know, can you describe it and/or take a picture for us?
    i will get back to you with the filter.
    1. Do you test your water for ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, pH? If you don't, please get a liquid [drops] test kit and test the water. Report the results in numbers.
    pH 7,i think thats it.
    1. I can't tell what country you are from. What is the source of the water you use, and is it treated in any way to remove chlorine/chloramines?
    india,ground water,no chlorine.
    1. Have you added any new fish lately?
    no.
    1. Is there anything near you where people with koi [or other ornamental fish] have groups or clubs where they get together to talk about their hobby?
    no.
    1. ......and there are probably more questions, but don't want to overload you.
    alright.you can ask for more if you need to .i am ready to answer it.

    i am not trying to breed the one with fungus.
    i will get back to you soon.but thank you a lot.
     
    Bardebarde, Aug 12, 2017
    #20
    Mmathis likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. cinfid12

    Most expensive koi to breed??

    cinfid12, Jul 12, 2010, in forum: Spawning
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    11,332
    Airic
    Jul 15, 2010
  2. Mmathis
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    4,505
    Mmathis
    Aug 15, 2012
  3. tbendl

    Fish that won't breed

    tbendl, Sep 23, 2014, in forum: Fish & Koi Talk
    Replies:
    50
    Views:
    1,551
  4. Andy41

    Frogs - What breed?

    Andy41, Mar 31, 2015, in forum: Garden Pond Photography
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    620
    JuiceyJ
    Apr 15, 2015
  5. Big Lou

    One fish or two that do not breed

    Big Lou, Jun 15, 2016, in forum: Garden Pond Talk
    Replies:
    30
    Views:
    633
    Smaug
    Jun 17, 2016
  6. Lee Chappell
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    448
  7. Giovanni Carlo Bagayas

    My own breed gosanke

    Giovanni Carlo Bagayas, Nov 16, 2016, in forum: Spawning
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    296
    Giovanni Carlo Bagayas
    Nov 16, 2016
  8. Luna

    Cant find my pleco catfish in my pound

    Luna, May 31, 2017, in forum: Garden Pond Talk
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    191
    budgenator
    May 31, 2017
Loading...