How to start a new pond

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello I'm new to the pond world I rent a house with a large back yard and want a pond but I don't want to dig any holes since this isn't my house can I do a raised pond or do I still need to dig in the ground or can I get a preformed pond and put rocks around it also can I still put koi fish if it's above ground

Smaug

God makes perfect. I just dug the hole
Reaction score
Country
United States
Keeping koi properly requires at least 1000 gallons. Making an above ground pond of that size is a fair amount of work and wouldn't be cheap. Keep in mind that above ground ponds tend to freeze solid if winters are cold.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Keeping koi properly requires at least 1000 gallons. Making an above ground pond of that size is a fair amount of work and wouldn't be cheap. Keep in mind that above ground ponds tend to freeze solid if winters are cold.
Wow okay thanks so I should go for some gold fish to start until I get the hang of things

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Wow okay thanks so I should go for some gold fish to start until I get the hang of things
Get "poor" mans koi, shubukins, I love them they are, to me, as pretty as koi. But stay smaller and are not as fussy about their water as koi are.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I was going to be a smartie and say "step one - dig a hole"... but then I read your post! ;)

Actually, for anyone thinking of building a new pond the best starting place is to read, read, and read some more! So you're in the right place!

Smaug

God makes perfect. I just dug the hole
Reaction score
Country
United States
Get "poor" mans koi, shubukins, I love them they are, to me, as pretty as koi. But stay smaller and are not as fussy about their water as koi are.