How to use "showcase" -- SHOWCASE NEWBIE

Discussion in 'Feedback Section' started by Mmathis, Jun 25, 2015.

  1. Mmathis

    Mmathis TurtleMommy

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8,205
    Likes Received:
    4,462
    Location:
    NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
    I have 2 questions/issues...... (I've never before used the "showcase" section)

    1) I started a "showcase," and saved it to "draft." Now I can't find it.

    2) Also, aren't you supposed to be able to write information [explanations] to accompany the pics? When I try to put the cursor in so I can type, it blips away, like it's a non-allowable function or something. I'm on an iPad Air, if that makes a difference.

    Obviously I didn't read the directions well enough......HELP!
     
    Mmathis, Jun 25, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Mmathis

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    423
    Really pleased to hear that you're making a showcase entry!

    I think you can view the draft versions by clicking on "your items" at the top of the showcase menu: https://www.gardenpondforum.com/showcase/member/mmathis.3238/ in your case. I think it's in the column on the right hand side once you are on that page.

    If that doesn't work, let me know and I'll find out why it's not working :).

    The showcase works by having different tabbed sections for the text you can enter, for example "overview", "planning and construction", etc... the tabs are at the top of the editor. The pics are uploaded to their own gallery which appears on the main showcase page at the very bottom, but once you've uploaded them you can copy/paste the "Insert Full Image BB Code" text from the attachments and insert it in to the text editor so that the images appears wherever you'd like. It's a bit more difficult than a forum post, but the only way we can get the system working at the moment. If you're using an iPad it may be more difficult to move the images around than it would be on a PC.
     
    Ian, Jun 25, 2015
    #2
    Mmathis likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Mmathis

    Mmathis TurtleMommy

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8,205
    Likes Received:
    4,462
    Location:
    NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
    Give me a bit, and I'll give it a try -- thanks!
     
    Mmathis, Jun 25, 2015
    #3
  4. Mmathis

    Mmathis TurtleMommy

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8,205
    Likes Received:
    4,462
    Location:
    NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
    @Ian OK, I found my showcase and am able to access it -- thank you!

    I was able to type something -- which I couldn't do before. But I'm still not able to "paste" my pix code info into the text editor. Again, the cursor "blips" away when I try.

    Of note, I am close to my data limit on the iPad -- don't know if that matters or not. I just completed a purge, but it didn't change anything [darn!]. Also, having occas. issuse with the iPad and Hubby says that means it's time for a new iPad [yes!]. Again, don't know if any of this relates, but thought I'd mention it.
     
    Mmathis, Jun 26, 2015
    #4
  5. Mmathis

    Mmathis TurtleMommy

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8,205
    Likes Received:
    4,462
    Location:
    NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
    @Ian Still no luck getting the photos to show in text editor. I have a series of pix downloaded, and that went OK [like the regular posts]. But still, the cursor blips away and/or sometimes the word "paste" will be there briefly, but it ghosts as well.

    I tried to manually copy & paste from the codes.

    I tried to enter via the text editor icons [the little icon of a landscape] and -- -- showed up.

    I'm not actually an Apple user [except for my iPad & iPhone] so not familiar with Apple shortcuts, but I did recall that there are shortcut keys [I have an add-on keyboard]. When I selected the "copy & paste" key, all that showed up was the code. No image -- not even in preview.

    What puzzles me is that I don't have any trouble posting pix on regular posts or PM's, so what is different here that the SHOWCASE and my iPad aren't on speaking terms? GRRRRRR!
     
    Mmathis, Jun 27, 2015
    #5
  6. Mmathis

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    423
    Sorry for the slow reply, I've been away this weekend at a wedding.

    I'm not sure why the showcase isn't working on the iPad, but unfortunately I don't have one anymore so that I can test it out and try to help. Has anyone else here got an iPad and had any luck?

    What you could do, is add some placeholder text for the photos in the meantime (based on filename or ID) and I can manually add them for you on my PC? That may be a workaround until I can see what's causing the problem?
     
    Ian, Jun 29, 2015
    #6
    Mmathis likes this.
  7. Mmathis

    Mmathis TurtleMommy

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8,205
    Likes Received:
    4,462
    Location:
    NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
    @Ian Thanks! I'm not in a hurry. My husband is using my laptop temporarily, but once he gets his back and I have full-time access to mine, I'll devote some time to seeing what I can do with that.
     
    Mmathis, Jun 29, 2015
    #7
    Ian likes this.
  8. Mmathis

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    423
    Thanks :). Hopefully the laptop will make things work again, but I'll do some digging in the meantime in case we have some iPad-only users.
     
    Ian, Jun 29, 2015
    #8
  9. Mmathis

    Mmathis TurtleMommy

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8,205
    Likes Received:
    4,462
    Location:
    NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
    I just posted a thread asking for help from iPad users.
     
    Mmathis, Jun 29, 2015
    #9
  10. Mmathis

    Mmathis TurtleMommy

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8,205
    Likes Received:
    4,462
    Location:
    NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
    @Ian My husband wonders if this has anything to do with it?


    image.jpg
     
    Mmathis, Jul 1, 2015
    #10
  11. Mmathis

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    423
    I've had a look at the options and the "0" setting is for unlimited attachments, although it's confusing nomenclature! All users have the same upload constraints, so if it works for one it should work for all, so I suspect the problem is an incompatibility. If it doesn't work when you try the laptop, then it could be a deeper problem, but I think it'll work ok when you get a chance to try on there :).

    Are you able to borrow it back for a few mins to give it a whirl?
     
    Ian, Jul 1, 2015
    #11
    Mmathis likes this.
  12. Mmathis

    Mmathis TurtleMommy

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8,205
    Likes Received:
    4,462
    Location:
    NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
    Not yet.
     
    Mmathis, Jul 1, 2015
    #12
  13. Mmathis

    Mmathis TurtleMommy

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8,205
    Likes Received:
    4,462
    Location:
    NW Louisiana -- zone 8b
    @Ian Yea! Finally got my laptop back last night -- hubby's had to be sent off for repairs. (He is a physician, so he needed access to mine and it wasn't always practical for me to get access.)

    I started playing around with the SHOWCASE on the laptop (which is not an Apple product), and so far it seems to be working and the pix are showing up! So I shall sally forth!

    Will let you know if I have other issues, but hoping I can figure everything out. Thanks for your help!

    Oh, and if you CAN find out why this wouldn't work on my iPad, I'd still like to know why and if there is a fix. I spend more time on the iPad Air, and it would be nice if I didn't have to shuffle betweed devices.
     
    Mmathis, Jul 9, 2015
    #13
    Ian likes this.
  14. Mmathis

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    423
    Oh that's good news :D

    I'm glad it's working now on the laptop, although I agree that it would be ideal if it worked on an iPad too. There's a new version of the showcase software out now, but it's quite a major overhaul so I'll need to get coding to make sure that the customisations from our version will work on the new one. I hope that the iPad bug will be fixed in that verson.
     
    Ian, Jul 9, 2015
    #14
    Mmathis likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Ian

    Pond Showcase and Articles Section

    Ian, Jun 4, 2011, in forum: News and Announcements
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    2,262
    koiguy1969
    Jul 5, 2011
  2. koiguy1969

    NEW POND SHOWCASE ON FACEBOOK...

    koiguy1969, Jul 29, 2012, in forum: General Chat
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    1,318
    don't ask
    Jul 31, 2012
  3. CountryEscape

    Posts split from Larkin's pond showcase

    CountryEscape, Feb 24, 2013, in forum: Garden Pond Talk
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    515
    fishin4cars
    Feb 26, 2013
  4. Ian

    Showcase section fully working again

    Ian, Feb 27, 2013, in forum: Feedback Section
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    545
    fishin4cars
    Feb 28, 2013
  5. Becky

    Showcase your pond

    Becky, Jan 31, 2014, in forum: News and Announcements
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    1,970
    Gemma
    Oct 7, 2017
  6. j.w

    Loading photos on a showcase

    j.w, Feb 2, 2014, in forum: Feedback Section
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    523
    addy1
    Feb 4, 2014
  7. taherrmann4

    New pond showcase question

    taherrmann4, Mar 12, 2014, in forum: Feedback Section
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    609
  8. Creativeclover

    what thinkness should i use when i use a pond liner thats not forms

    Creativeclover, Sep 5, 2016, in forum: Pond Construction & Equipment
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    330
    sissy
    Sep 8, 2016
Loading...