Howdy from North east GA!

Amy

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
HI, My name is Amy and I have been keeping aquariums for 20+ years now(fresh and saltwater).
I am building a koi or goldfish pond. It is about 3000g(I believe).
I am on several saltwater fish forums, and thought I might find a pond forum to learn and share. So, after a quick google search, here I am.
I will post the pond I am building in the correct forum, but I thought I would introduce myself here and share a couple of my aquarium pictures, as my pond has no fish yet!

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Welcome! Awesome pictures, and sea horses, no less!

Yes, tell us all about your plans & take lots of pics along the way. Have you decided on what kind of filtration you'll use? Bottom drains, skimmer, etc, etc....

I have only goldfish in my pond, but we have many members who have koi. If it hasn't crossed your mind yet, with ponds you have to consider predators that love to snack on pond fish -- the primary culprit is the Great Blue Heron. So be sure to keep that in mind.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
Amy welcome from Plymouth in the UK like you we kept aquariums for 22 years keeping our koi in a huge indoor aquarium and have been outside now for 5 years in our own pond forced to do so by health issues and have found it far easir when it comes down to maintenance due to doing so :cool:,
Had we remained indoors we would have had to give up our long time love afair with koi:( .
Please believe me when I tell you you have a steep learning curve ahead however if you are careful and learn the lessons well you'll become a good koi keeper.
Your first lesson is to be exact in your gallonage, a pond cannot be around 300gallons US it has to be spot on.... why ? This is because you need the exact gallonage for future treatments remember too much can overdose overdoses can damage your koi and even kill or maime them :(. :-