Huge Koi Pond - Skimmer / Filter / Bio-Falls Advice - Atlantic vs Pondmaster

Reaction score
I am brand new to ponds, but have taken up the chore of building a very exciting 4 pond 35,000 gal system with streams that connect them all. They will actually be 3 self contained bodies of water, but the streams will make them look as though they are all connected. I've done a lot of research on equipment over the last few months, and have narrowed my search down considerably.

Here are some things I've decided on for certain:
  • Pumps: Sequence Primer Series (5 of them)
  • Bottom Drains: Vortex (4 of them)
  • Sterilizers: Aqua UV (5 of them)

The one thing I am still ironing out is which line of Skimmers/Filters/Bio-Falls to use. I've narrowed this down to 2 main types:

Another line of equipment that looks descent is Savio. Anyway, I'm having a hard time deciding between these brands. They both look solid, so maybe I'm making to much of it. Does anyone have any experience with these? What would you recommend and why?

On a side note, in a simple example, if I have an 8,000 Gallon pump which is pulling from the bottom drain and a skimmer (at 50% each way), am I right to think that the skimmer would only have to be 4,000 Gallon capable? Seems obvious, but just want to make sure.

Glad I found this forum, tons of info! :banana:

John P.

Reaction score
The brands/products you mention are all good ones. Savio also excellent when it comes to skimmers. Typically, you'll find that ponders with the type of set up you are describing go with the Savio brand. Sequence pumps are great for energy consumption and are workhorses; and your choices for BD and sterilizer are also faves of serious ponders with large systems like yours. You can't go wrong with any of the what you've picked out so far.