I’m making a pond with a 50 gallon tub. I’m new to this.

Reaction score
Country
United States
What are the necessities of making a pod? Can I just filter the water using plants or do I need a pump? Any advice is much appreciated.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I thought so, but wanted to make sure in this "Podcast" "iPod" AirPod" world that I hadn't missed some new pond development!

I'll be super honest with you - calling a 50 gallon container a "pond" is really a stretch. I have a 45 gallon patio "pond" which is really more of a container garden. I grow plants in it all summer and it's pretty and fun, but it's definitely not a pond. I don't filter it, but I do put a small aerator in it to keep the water moving a bit. I do put a couple of fish in it every year but they end up going back in the big pond at the end of the season. And every year I have a couple of frogs that move in and call it home for the summer.

If your plan sounds like what I do, then no, you don't need a filter. Lots of plants work great. I also do take a few gallons of water out every few weeks - I use that to water my hanging pots - and add some fresh water. It's a small amount of water that you're maintaining, so keeping it fish safe is important.

By the way - I'm zone 5B. If I were in a warmer climate, this little "pond" would most likely stay up all year round.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
With the 50 gallons, make sure you put very few fish in. Stick with fan tails, minnows etc.

Welcome to our forum!

Reaction score
Country
United States
With the 50 gallons, make sure you put very few fish in. Stick with fan tails, minnows etc.

Welcome to our forum!