I am a newbie from MA and have a question for the group

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi,

My name is Chris and I had a pond, or ponds, rather, at my home for over 20 years. I had goldfish, some of whom were well over a foot long. I had to sell my house two years ago, and the folks that bought the place did not want fish. So, I gave away my entire stock to pond friends. In the weeds, as we were clearing the pond, were a new batch of fry. I gave most away, but kept some in a tank and raised them until the following spring, whereupon I gave them away, knowing that they had had a good start!

My question for anyone and everyone is this...

I held onto two of my "fry" which are now about 3 inches long, from head to tail. They are in an aquarium in my apartment. I wonder daily whether I did the right thing by them. I wanted them because I actually could recognize the sire, if you will, of one of them, and they were simply the offspring of fish I had had for years and years. BUT, am I doing the right thing? They are the offspring of hardy pond fish. They live the easy life, getting good food and care. BUT, they are stuck in an aquarium...15 gallons for the two of them, with plants and interesting stuff in there with them. I wonder each time I look at them if they would be happier in a pond where they are free to roam, but may have to forage for food, could get eaten by animals, etc.

I need some input, because I do question myself. I have "pond friends" that have my other fish and have large ponds. Should I release these last two so they can be free, or are they better off living the easy life???

I welcome all assistance here!!! Thank you!!!!!

Chris

Reaction score
Showcase(s):