I am new to ponds and have some questions. Help please

Reaction score
I have always wanted to start a pond and I have been looking around online for a begginers guide. Here is my plan. I wish to have a 1750 gallon pond roughly about 10 feet long and 6 feet wide. All of the edges of the pond will have a 2 foot drop followed by a 25 degree angle slope to the bottom which will be 5 feet deep at the deepest. Now this is where my question comes in. Every article I have read says it is wise to use a bottom drain. What in the world do I connect this bottom drain to? Also my next question regards filtration. do I need a skimmer If my filter has mechanichal filtration? also can I use an all in one filter that has both biological filtration and mechanical or do I need seperate filters for each? My final question would be If I used a pump to bring my water to the filter would I need another pump to bring thr water roughly about 1 feet on a 12 degree slope to a waterfall or will the original pump be sufficient? Also in general what turnover rate should I have for my filter and what size piping should I plumb with? My last question is about how many mature koi can I keep in a pond this size. I know these questions might sound obvious but I am new to this. Thanks

-Sam

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reaction score
We did not use a drain in ours. I hadn't read that it was needed. But if you use a bottom drain I suppose you would use a PVC 90 to come out of the bottom the run flexible PVC to a designated area where it can drain away from the pond. Of course it would need to have a drop in order to drain.

The skimmer helps keep the surface of the water clean and debris free. Your fish will also be very interested in the skimmer. We find them in there all the time.

We use a Savio Compact Skimmerfilter. So I guess ours is all in one and seems to be working fine. I am not real sure about the pump question.