i started out as a child...

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
howdy everyone. thank goodness for forums.
i'm a newbie to fish care. i adopted 8 goldfish and a couple plecos when a prior housemate ditched them a few months ago. did you know that goldfish should eat fresh fruits and vegetables every day? i thought you fed them colored flakes you get at a pet food store. imagine that...
housing them indoors properly due to their size would of been a large investment to still have them in a small area. we have a small lined pond 8ft x 12ft x 16in. deep built as a duck pool last year. i decided to put the goldfish in the pond. the ducks are gone.
the pond is at the end of a 100 ft long water course i've been working on. the pond will be dug to 5 feet deep and enlarged to 8ft x 18ft next week. it's all lined with epdm rubber.
i never planned on having fish in the pond. including the two fish that magically appeared in the pond this spring. we grabbed some duckweed last year from a nearby pond for the ducks along with some water and put it in our pond. we won't do that again.
i'm anxious to get the pond dug to limit the daily water temperature variation and i'm researching a good approach for the winter and hoping i don't screw it up.
well that's my story and i'm sticking to it.

here's a video i made for my facebook friends a couple weeks ago on the first day the course flowed all the way.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United Kingdom
That's a great water course you have, and a larger pond at the end would be a fantastic home for the fish. There are people on this forum from all over the States, so they're best placed to advise on over-wintering.

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome! Where do you live?