I tried to get rid of the fish but we have loads of fry. We dont feed them. They seem healthy. Are we being cruel? What do we need to do?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I tried to get rid of the fish but we have loads of fry. We don’t feed them. They seem healthy. Are we being cruel? What do we need to do?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I’m no fish expert, but I think that if you don’t feed and still have tons of fry, then your fish really like the pond.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I’m no fish expert, but I think that if you don’t feed and still have tons of fry, then your fish really like the pond.
Thank you, it seems they do. If I do try to feed them they don’t eat the fish food.
There are maybe 50 and some are a couple of years old now.
I’m worried that when they all grow I’ll have a real problem on my hands?

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome!

Your question is vague — I think we need more information. What kind of fish do you have and are they in a natural or manmade pond? How big is the pond

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
10a
Country
United States
I worry about the same things...I have 7 shubunkins that are constantly spawning...I have tons of fry plus tadpoles and my nitrate level is still zero so I am not worried. I do feed twice a day....My pond is only 900 gallons so it is a mystery that my nitrates are still zero. There are many here that do not feed their fish and therefor they eat the eggs when laid which controls the population...I have a small pond so there isn't as much natural food available for so many so that is why I am compelled to feed (plus my guys always act like they are starving)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello and welcome!

Your question is vague — I think we need more information. What kind of fish do you have and are they in a natural or manmade pond? How big is the pond