iam going to build my own bio filter skippy style


PS3

Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
351
Reaction score
1
Location
long island ny
ok guys iam going to build my own bio filter based on koiguy1969.
model but i need to know some stuff frist.will i be able to use this kind of filter for above the ground pound and what if i cant find a 55 gallon drum. will i be able to use a huge garbge pale?? and what about the SOLIDS like the muck
will i still need a filter in the pond, i do keep the bottom of the pond clean.
and will i still need my U/V light after i build this filter.
i have all the tools i need saw;s pcv cutters my brother does A/C work
and when my dad was alive he owned a a/c and oil burner compnay.
i wish he was here to help me build this. thanks all
 
Ad

Advertisements

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
10,587
Reaction score
6,396
Location
Michigan zone 5b
barrels are available on craigslist almost all the time, and most carwashes sell them (their soaps and wax come in them) ihave seen them between $5.00 and $25.00 at carwashes so call around.
you wont need another filter in the pond
you can still use your U.V. (if you have it why not use it)
and yes you can use this filter with an above ground pond...i made specifically for use on an above ground pond in my basement... i have the 70 gal stocktank one for outside pond.
 

PS3

Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
351
Reaction score
1
Location
long island ny
ok how do i keep the oil filter catcher and the whiet pvc pipe to the drum
do i glue it or screw it down and seal it??
 

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
10,587
Reaction score
6,396
Location
Michigan zone 5b
neither.. your bottom media grid will keep it in place down ther and the top grid will keep it straight up and down up top. drill some (3or4) small holes in the bottom of the oil pan to let the air out...i said small holes.
 

PS3

Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
351
Reaction score
1
Location
long island ny
ok i got a 55 gallon drum from the car wash for ten dollars
best ten bucks i have spent. now tomorrow we will cut the
top off. should i use boiling water to celan it out or just
a good rise? it said it there was wheel wash in it.
should i put slat in the barrel also to clean it good??
 
Ad

Advertisements

DrDave

Innovator
Moderator
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
6,842
Reaction score
105
Location
Fallbrook, Ca USA
Rinse it good, then fill it and let it set overnight. If you have PH strips, check to make sure it is not real high (alkalyne) the next day. Some wheel cleaners are very caustic.
 

PS3

Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
351
Reaction score
1
Location
long island ny
ok guys i put the drum behinde the pond and fall
and the way the water is top feed dont look good to me. i will have a hose in the air lol
i know some body here has a drum filter that he said is bottom feed
so i wanna do this in stead of top feed i think it will look better
and does it work the same way at the top feed model
the water will go out the discharge and will i need to gudie the water to the discharge
and are bottom feed skippys just as good thanks guy
and iam sorry iam just over wehemaled
 

PS3

Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
351
Reaction score
1
Location
long island ny
ok will do i just got back from home depot & i got allmost my my PVC fittings.
i got 1 &1/2 pipeing and eblows in side dimaeter is this right?
they look kinda big lol and i can use reg silcone compared to
fish tank silcone the fish tank silcone is 8 dollars for a there tube which is small
and reg silicone is 4 dollars for a huge ones from home depot
 

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
10,587
Reaction score
6,396
Location
Michigan zone 5b
yes i used 1&1/2" pipe... using a larger pipe reduces resistance to flow, while at the same time slows the speed,and pressure at which the water leaves the pipes at the bottom of the barrel. this allows the debris to settle quicker and are less likely to get restirred up. the quicker they settle the less likely they are to make it up into your media...if they dont get in your media they cant dirty up and/ or clog your media... its all in good design

WHAT SIZE PUMP ARE YOU USING?
 
Ad

Advertisements

PS3

Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
351
Reaction score
1
Location
long island ny
ok here is the drum but it will go behinde the pond
my dad and i built a box for behinde the pond to keep the U/V light
out of the rain and there is also a power box but iam planing on moveing the box oh and i got my ball vaulve also
how does that get mounted in the drum do i need a flange??
and i got pipe to go with it andi might puth this drum on
cider blocks if its the right thing to do and also
the guy at home depot said i would need a flange
if i bottom fed the filter
 

Attachments

  • drum 1.jpg
    drum 1.jpg
    143 KB · Views: 433

PS3

Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
351
Reaction score
1
Location
long island ny
ok now my mom is yelling lol here is a front pic of the pond with the drum filter
now can i hide this filter in the bushes behinde the pond she dont want
an ugly drum in the open and would i need a more powerfull pump ?
it's only 6 feet
 

DrCase

Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Messages
4,400
Reaction score
785
Location
Arkansas
Hardiness Zone
7a
My drums sit behind a fence
and send the water 30' + back to the pond
make your Mom happy
 

PS3

Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
351
Reaction score
1
Location
long island ny
ok, how can i make this filter in to a bottom feed
i really dont wanna run the pump hose in the air
is there any way i can make the in take at the bottom of the drum
instead of going though the top ?? i want this thing to be killer
 
Ad

Advertisements

DrDave

Innovator
Moderator
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
6,842
Reaction score
105
Location
Fallbrook, Ca USA
Yes you can, but that requires a bulkhead fitting and another potential leak point.
Did you go to my web site and look at the way I did mine?
 

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Messages
10,587
Reaction score
6,396
Location
Michigan zone 5b
why in the world would you have to run the hose up in the air? and if you run your feed ilto the bottom you will need to install a check valve to stop any risk of backwashing the crud out of the filter if your pump fails or turns off for any reason if you really want to keep the hose on the ground hard pipe down the outside of the drum and make your hose connection there.
 

PS3

Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
351
Reaction score
1
Location
long island ny
ok so i can run the hose from out of the pond over the side
along the ground and up the side to the intake and i wont lose
any water pressure :fish: if so this will be awesome.
do u what iam trying to say so i will stay with this desgin
i have a slight learining distably
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top