Ich : Treatment done now what????

Reaction score
Country
South Africa
Hi All

Please help! I am a newbie at the whole pond thing. I built my own pond, its about 500 / 600 litres with lots of vegetation and a home made bio filter and waterfall. Recently introduced new baby koi into the existing system (which had small koi and some guppies) and the new fish, unfortunately, brought along some ich. One has since died. I have just treated the pond with 30ml of Tetra Pond MediFin and some salt. My questions are
a) do I need to do a complete water change?
b) do I need to sterilise the bio filter (in essence start again)
c) how often do I need to dose the pond and for how long. First dose was done yesterday and I'm not sure if I need to do it again and if so how many times and at what intervals.

The pond itself has perfect water quality with all levels tested (strip test) in the ok range. The water is getting to the colder side (in South Africa the winters usually don't cause water to freeze over and we are now entering autumn). Pond is tear drop shaped with a shallow end with gravel (for the smaller animals to drink in without drowning) going deeper, deepest side though is only about 40cm, and has been running now for 4 months with no issues. Fish are fed once a day and share the pond with some tadpoles.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
fish with ich should be treated in another tank .All new fish should never be put in an existing pond with fish .You only need to treat the fish with ich

Reaction score
Country
South Africa
Thanks sissy but a) we did not know that the new fish, which were bought from a pond supplier for a pond, had inch and b) all the fish are now infected so I need to look at the entire pond not an isolated fish

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States