ideas for fish for my new pond??

Reaction score
Just building a new pond its 7ft/3ft and 9 bricks high just need to know what pump. Filter and fish would u guys start off with. Thanks in advance.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
I have a pondmaster 24 submersible pump going strong for 12yrs now in my abt 2400 gal pond. A more power efficient pump would be a Laguna Max Flo and I'm leaning towards one of those in the future. They have different sizes for your size of pond. You need to figure out how many gallons your pond is and do you have a waterfall? You use metric so I can't help you there but here is how I figure mine out:

How can I determine the amount of water in my pond?

To determine the gallons of water in a square or rectangular pond:

Multiply average length x average width x average depth x 7.5 = gallons of water.

To determine the gallons of water in a circular pond:

Multiply (half the diameter) x (half the diameter) x 3.14 x depth x 7.5 = gallons

Reaction score
I have a pondmaster 24 submersible pump going strong for 12yrs now in my abt 2400 gal pond. A more power efficient pump would be a Laguna Max Flo and I'm leaning towards one of those in the future. They have different sizes for your size of pond. You need to figure out how many gallons your pond is and do you have a waterfall? You use metric so I can't help you there but here is how I figure mine out:

Multiply average length x average width x average depth x 7.5 = gallons of water.

Multiply (half the diameter) x (half the diameter) x 3.14 x depth x 7.5 = gallons