I'm new to this, here is my first pond! Also: Hi, I'm Jules in Vermont.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States
I've just finished building my first pond! I'm in Zone 5 in Southern Vermont. My pond is built into a steep hillside, and holds 65 gallons (but not 100% level so likely not holding that much in reality). At the top level, I have a small Danner Proline 1000 waterfall box which contains misc. biomedia and carbon which falls roughly a 1 foot drop into a 9g Maccourt connecting pool which I have altered into a waterfall pool which then drops a near 2 foot drop into a Maccourt 3-tier 5g cascade, which flows into the 65 gallon kidney-shaped pond (I purchased the pond locally and do not know the brand). It's driven by a Tetra Pond 1200gph pump with a Tetra box filter in the pond to which I have added filter floss and carbon to increase the ability to clear the somewhat muddy water due to the state of construction ongoing around the pond (and thunderstorm season). The pump is split between the falls (75-85%) and a small TotalPond fountainhead (15-25%) I rigged up on a valve with a tee splitter in the main pool. I've treated the water the same as my indoor aquarium, with beneficial bacteria (Seachem Stability) and Seachem Prime, though I doubt it's fully cycled at this point since I just added fish yesterday after doing a week of starting the biofilter. I've added no plants, but did dump some of my fancy guppies from my indoor aquarium in there, not expecting them to survive the winter, of course. I've just thrown an aquarium heater out there for now. They are not fish I care about, just ones I would give away for free anyway (which if anyone is interested in taking, can have).