In over my head, building a huge waterfall. Need pointers.

Reaction score
Country
United States
It’s been a four year project to reclaim my hillside. Last summer I began installing a pondless waterfall from the top which is about 16’ above the bottom. I had help installing large rocks. The guy who helped said I should use mortar to build up the sheer drops and intermix cobble to cover the liner. He wasn’t able to show me exactly how to do this so now that the weather is getting better I gotta get this sucker done.

I can use an excavator just fine but need pointers on building up 4-5’ sheer drops.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
image.jpg

Cichlidboy

Dandridge TN cichlids not goldies
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
I really like this idea I think more steps to set stones on would help with the stacking of your stone on big walls I am also new to this so I just know that's how I would do it but there are many really talented people on hear that have alot of knowledge that will give you great ideas

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
That’s a hell of a retaining wall system.

4-5’ drops, if you want them to look natural, require 5-6’ tall boulders. BIG BOYS! You could do some stacking of smaller as well, but not too much or starts to look fake.

One way to use smaller rocks would be to cut in more, smaller drops and turn the water a lot. Put boulders well outside the liner, too. Would be weird to have a grassy hill with one big strip of boulders in the middle.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
I am stressing about doing a small waterfall between my bog and pond, so I would not dare give any advice! The only suggest I have is YOUTUBE! There are so many really excellent professional pond and waterfall builders out there. Aquascape has done some huge projects -- big waterfalls for public parks and businesses. I would look around on YouTube and watch a bunch of these videos. The more you see, the more you learn!