Indoor overwinter tanks...

Discussion in 'Indoor tanks' started by Joe Jiuliani, Nov 9, 2017.

  1. Joe Jiuliani

    Joe Jiuliani

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone have a story of horror or bliss about an indoor overwinter tank...And how good of an idea is it to set one up...
     
    Joe Jiuliani, Nov 9, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Joe Jiuliani

    Jhn

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    Maryland
    Depends how cold your winters get and what type of pond you have. With forethought and the correct design most times the fish can just be left in the pond.

    When I moved around 9 years ago, I had a customer that had a decent size eco pond that had to be removed for me to do my work. It was full of small juvenile koi (1-3") that I wintered over in a 150 gallon stock tank, until I built my pond the following spring. Had no issues, but it was just a one time thing, I was never planning on overwintering my pond fish indoors.
     
    Jhn, Nov 9, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Joe Jiuliani

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    29,002
    Likes Received:
    12,575
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    I have a neighbor with a pond in his over sized work shop .It had concrete block and a liner and even mulch and plants .I wish I could find the pics of it I posted them here years ago .It was fantastic .But since they have sold and moved .
     
    sissy, Nov 9, 2017
    #3
  4. Joe Jiuliani

    MitchM

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5,853
    Likes Received:
    5,670
    Location:
    Water Valley, Alberta
    Remember that when you set up an indoor aquatic environment (pond or aquarium), it can severely affect your home indoor humidity level.
    Educate yourself about that or ask questions here first.
     
    MitchM, Nov 9, 2017
    #4
    sissy likes this.
  5. Joe Jiuliani

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    29,002
    Likes Received:
    12,575
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    yep I run a dehumidifier in the basement for my plants and tank .Plus my floors are insulated and then this membrane is placed to cover up the insulation .It is thick and tear resistant .
     
    sissy, Nov 10, 2017
    #5
    MitchM likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. DrDave

    Tanks for breeding

    DrDave, Dec 11, 2007, in forum: DIY - Do It Yourself
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,838
    DrDave
    May 23, 2008
  2. Philanthropist

    Where do I get a vaccum for fish tanks?

    Philanthropist, Mar 12, 2009, in forum: Pond Construction & Equipment
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,334
    bunnymp
    Mar 20, 2009
  3. topofthehill1
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    2,952
    addy1
    Nov 5, 2013
  4. JBtheExplorer

    Nervous about Frogs Overwinter

    JBtheExplorer, Nov 13, 2013, in forum: Newbies to Garden Ponds
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    587
    Lisak1
    Nov 16, 2013
  5. Becky

    New forum section - Indoor Tanks

    Becky, Nov 19, 2013, in forum: News and Announcements
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,045
    Sunshine
    Nov 19, 2013
  6. Sunshine

    How many have indoor tanks?

    Sunshine, Nov 19, 2013, in forum: Indoor tanks
    Replies:
    140
    Views:
    5,844
    southern_guy
    Oct 7, 2014
  7. MitchM

    MitchM indoor tanks

    MitchM, Dec 22, 2013, in forum: Indoor tanks
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    709
    CountryEscape
    Dec 25, 2013
  8. DaBagBoy

    pumping and netting Overwinter in Zone 5

    DaBagBoy, Nov 27, 2014, in forum: Winterizing Your Pond
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    881
    addy1
    Jan 12, 2015
Loading...