Indoor overwinter tanks...

Discussion in 'Indoor tanks' started by Joe Jiuliani, Nov 9, 2017.

  1. Joe Jiuliani

    Joe Jiuliani

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone have a story of horror or bliss about an indoor overwinter tank...And how good of an idea is it to set one up...
     
    Joe Jiuliani, Nov 9, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Joe Jiuliani

    Jhn

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    442
    Location:
    Maryland
    Depends how cold your winters get and what type of pond you have. With forethought and the correct design most times the fish can just be left in the pond.

    When I moved around 9 years ago, I had a customer that had a decent size eco pond that had to be removed for me to do my work. It was full of small juvenile koi (1-3") that I wintered over in a 150 gallon stock tank, until I built my pond the following spring. Had no issues, but it was just a one time thing, I was never planning on overwintering my pond fish indoors.
     
    Jhn, Nov 9, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Joe Jiuliani

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    30,012
    Likes Received:
    13,295
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    I have a neighbor with a pond in his over sized work shop .It had concrete block and a liner and even mulch and plants .I wish I could find the pics of it I posted them here years ago .It was fantastic .But since they have sold and moved .
     
    sissy, Nov 9, 2017
    #3
  4. Joe Jiuliani

    MitchM

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6,316
    Likes Received:
    6,194
    Location:
    Water Valley, Alberta
    Remember that when you set up an indoor aquatic environment (pond or aquarium), it can severely affect your home indoor humidity level.
    Educate yourself about that or ask questions here first.
     
    MitchM, Nov 9, 2017
    #4
    sissy likes this.
  5. Joe Jiuliani

    sissy sissy

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    30,012
    Likes Received:
    13,295
    Location:
    Axton virginia
    yep I run a dehumidifier in the basement for my plants and tank .Plus my floors are insulated and then this membrane is placed to cover up the insulation .It is thick and tear resistant .
     
    sissy, Nov 10, 2017
    #5
    MitchM likes this.
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.