Introducing fish in a pond.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello, I am very new to pond keeping. I have a circular pond that is about 15 feet in diameter. The pond is along side a small stream that is about 5 feet wide, and moves fast enough to move water in the pond, but slow enough for a small fish to not get caught in the current. I think that the pond is natural, but if it isn't, it is at least 20 years old. I would like to keep KOI fish in the pond. (Remember, I am very new and and information helps) :). The pond is about 3.5-5 feet deep. I would like to know what matenance would be required, and any tips on adding/stocking/feeding/breeding KOI fish would be Very helpful.
Thank you.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I think what you're saying is that you have a pond that is open to a natural stream. You ABSOLUTELY cannot put koi or even goldfish into any body of water where they have ANY chance of escaping into the wild. I know you say the fish won't get caught in the current, but if they have the opportunity koi WILL swim into a current - it's their absolute favorite thing to do, other than eat.

Post some pictures of your pond so we can see what you have - maybe I've misunderstood you completely.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
How true the faster the water the better koi like it .You can get fined in some states now for having koi in a pond that could possibly flood and they get loose .I saw a big story on it and they had it on a couple of those game warden shows .It is a hefty fine .Even goldfish are illegal in a pond that can flood in some states .I saw it also after looking it up on the internet .They have a list of states

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom