introducing young koi

Reaction score
Hi all. Im new to introducing young koi to my pond.
Yesterday I introduced 10 2-3". Within 2 hours I found one literally ripped in half and today the rest are hiding in the folds and very reluctant to come out!! I dont know how to feed them because they arnt coming to the surface for the floating food they are used to.
I think maybe my sturgeon got hold of the deceased one or maybe the shubunkins are guilty.

Is this all pretty normal or are they just to small to be in the pond?

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
I doubt it was the shubunkins..dont know much about sturgeons, but the koi / goldfish family of fish are of little threat to fish over an inch or so..once they recognise them as fish and not some kind of larvae. They pretty much leave them alone. I let my fry loose in the pond every year at just about 1&1/2" or so, have yet to have any loses that i know of.

Reaction score
So what do you think about feeding them when they are staying in the folds? They guy I bought them off gave me some crushed scretins and coppens that floats? Do they usually find somewhere to hide and stay put?

koidaddy

karps house of koi
Reaction score
Do you have any alge on the walls of the pond? If so they will feed on that. But why would you put koi in with a sturgeon? If they are anything like the ones here I would think your koi will be food for it.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
Steve S, I have found that similar size fish generally acclimate to each other most easily. Sturgeon get very large and will eat smaller fish. I don't think this is a good mix. Your young koi are probably really stressed out for good reason. At this point the only meal they are thinking about is themselves!

Reaction score