is my pond construction safe?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hello all,

please bear with me as I'm new to all of this, I've never had a pond or built one but would like to have one.

myself and my wife recently moved into our house now and in the back garden there seems to be a half built pond, as I've always wanted a koi pond we were looking into finishing it off. now we are planning on having a rear extension built we are a bit concerned if the walls are strong enough the last thing we want is to finish our extension and the pond wall gives way and floods the new extension.

a few details about it - it measure 6800mm (22ft 4") long and 3000mm (9ft 10") wide, measurements taken from outside point of blockwork. it is approx. 5ft deep all over. as the garden is slightly sloped the end closest to my house is out of the ground by approx. 3ft and the far end is out of the ground by approx. 2ft. footings seem to be approx. 18" deep from what I can see on the inside of pond. and its build from concrete blocks lead flat. and the longest side runs up the boundary line to next door.

I've tried looking on google for how much pressure will be on the wall and got a bit confused so hoping someone can help me with working out if the walls are safe and will not collapse when / if finished. if it is not strong enough is there any easy / cheap ways of making it stronger? as if it is unsafe and I need to knock it down I'm not sure I will have the funds left to build from scratch so will prob have to fill it in which I would prefer not too.

I've uploaded some photos to try and help / explain I know it looks tatty but I was told they planned to render it at the end.

thank you in advance for any help :)

Attachments

• IMG_3578.JPG
    IMG_3578.JPG
    243.9 KB · Views: 222
  • IMG_3579.JPG
    IMG_3579.JPG
    283.3 KB · Views: 258
  • IMG_3580.JPG
    IMG_3580.JPG
    284.5 KB · Views: 211
  • IMG_3581.JPG
    IMG_3581.JPG
    262.3 KB · Views: 238
  • IMG_3582.JPG