Joey Tomocik

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
Canada
Hi there,

I am new to ponds and am learning about water lilies etc. Over the past 4 years I have purchased several hardy water lilies. They have all done really well, to the point that I've recently needed to divide and repot many of them. They flower beautifully!

Here's the problem.....I have bought 2 Joey Tomocik lilies over two years from two different suppliers, and neither one of them has bloomed after I've gotten them home. Can anyone weigh in on this? Is Joey a particularly difficult lily to own? All my other plants (with the exception of Perry's Baby Red, which is also a dud) have flourished. I have incredible robust blooms on Texas Dawn, Pink Grapefruit, Mayla, Almost Black, Denver, Colorado ,Clyde Ikins, etc.

I would love to have a pure yellow lily but so far that darn Joey won't bloom! At this point, I don't even know if he still exists in my ponds. I'd love to hear from anyone who has any experience with this lily. I'm willing to try again if I can get some advice on how to foster this plant.

Frustrated in Vancouver, B.C. Canada

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I have a Joey Tomocik in my patio pond. When I bought it, I was told it was a dwarf variety and liked to be closer to the surface - great information from my local nursery! But it blooms beautifully in the patio pond so I keep growing it there year after year. I put it in the big pond to over winter it. Other than that, I don't do anything special for this one - fertilize in the spring and a couple more times during the season. Here's a picture of the first bloom this year:

Joey.JPG

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Welcome and you really sound like you have a nice variety of lilies

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
Canada