Just bought a house with a pond in NJ

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello I am glad I found this site. I am totally new to the pond world. Spring has started and I just bought a house last week and it has a pond with 1 Koi in it and at lease 7 gold fish and 2 black fish. I have no idea what to do I need help. The previous owner said once it starts to warm and the fish look at you and open their mouths start feeing them and put the filter in???? He left a filter and fall and spring food but have no idea what to do. Can someone point me in the right direction I don't want the fish to die!
Thank you!!

morewater

President, Raccoon Haters International
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Canada
Posting of pictures would be helpful, both of the pond and the existing filtration. Also the dimensions (ie. length, width, average depth, geographical location), current pump size, etc.

Reaction score
Country
United States
I will post pictures later today as I am not living in the house yet. Thank you for your response.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
Welcome and congrats on the new home and pond. I agree with the above, pictures and more info would help. I would not feed them just yet.

Sorry you responded while I was typing, looking forward to the pictures

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Welcome! And don't worry too much about the fish - they're very hardy and will wait patiently while you figure things out! It sounds like you're in a cooler climate, so they wouldn't have started being fed yet anyway.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Here are a few pictures of my pond
pond.jpg
IMG_2495.JPG
IMG_2505.JPG
IMG_2500.JPG
IMG_2503 (1).JPG

Reaction score
Country
United States
IMG_2513.JPG

Here is the filter the previous owner left

What do I do?????

Thank you for all help!

Reaction score
Country
United States