Just couldn't say no...so now what?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States
Hi everyone!!
Sure does feel like its been a really long winter; I'm dying to get back to my pond! A couple weeks ago my husband found one of my koi in my skimmer, dead. Now he threw it out without telling me, so I never got to look at it or anything but we think it managed to get in the skimmer box, and then maybe died from being stuck in there after freezing or whatever. I really have no idea and all of my other fish seem fine. Well, tonight while I was at Wal-Mart I just thought I'd peek over and see if they had any koi in yet, I bought one there last year and its turning into a really pretty fish for only $5. Well I found this little guy and just couldn't help myself so I bought him. Poor thing was in a tank with about 3-4 other koi and one dead one :( So now I'd like to know what to do with it. I'm still pretty new to all this, but I'm betting it's a bad idea to put him in my pond while it's still so cold out. Water temp a couple days ago was only 45 degrees. Also a little worried about what caused his roommate to die, and would hate to introduce anything bad to my healthy fish. So what do you guys suggest I do with him and when to put him in the pond with everyone else? He's tiny, probably only 3", but I think it's a butterfly koi. Also just curious from you experienced breeders, do you think he will stay yellow?

Oh and I think he'll be a jumper! He's been jumping in my little mixing bowl since I got home!

The video is just my fish from last week when it got up in the mid 50's, they were all coming out of hiding and just as friendly as ever!! I can't wait to get my pond fixed back up and start feeding them again!

Attachments

• 2013-04-02T22-55-59_0.jpg
    2013-04-02T22-55-59_0.jpg
    20.4 KB · Views: 305
  • 2013-04-02T22-55-59_1.jpg
    2013-04-02T22-55-59_1.jpg
    19.7 KB · Views: 269
  • IMG_2159.MOV
    4.3 MB · Views: 239

sissy

sissy
Reaction score