Just lurking for ideas

Reaction score
New member as of today. Planning on a pondless waterfall and stream about 50 feet long, 3-4 feet wide with a lift of around 16 feet. I've never done this before but have friends who have done ponds so I'll get a little help in that aspect. Main concerns are how big a pump I need and the basin volume needed.

Doug

ididntdoit99

ididntdoit99
Reaction score
That is a good size stream, use a pond calculator to figure out how many gallons will be held in the stream (you didn't say how deep you wanted the stream to be or I could tell you)

In all honesty, you could really have any size basin you wanted, if you want to put a 5 gallon bucket the the end of your stream, you can, just know that if you shut your pump off, the stream is going to overflow that 5 gallon bucket and you will have to add water again when you turn the pump back on.

Reaction score
well the depth is another question altogether! I just want a stream with a natural looking flow, I don't want a gusher. So I'd estimate 4-5 inches deep. It wiil NOT be on constantly due to attracting unwanted 4 legged visitors at night from the woods around the house, so the basin volume would have to be big enough to hold all the water once the pump is turned off.. They do enough damage to my woodland garden already! The first pic is of the area back in 2009. The red arrows show the approximate begining and end. The second pic shows the area looking back down the hill. The stream will be in the natural gully there. The third pic will be the view to the right of the stream looking back up the hill. I know this will be a big project but I am damned and determined to do it myself!!!

Doug

Attachments

• Projected stream.jpg
    Projected stream.jpg
    167.6 KB · Views: 287
  • IMG_3668.JPG
    IMG_3668.JPG
    130.5 KB · Views: 278
  • IMG_3633.JPG
    IMG_3633.JPG
    131 KB · Views: 259

ididntdoit99

ididntdoit99
Reaction score