KH, pH, and don't assume everything's ducky

Reaction score
Hey, good morning to all!

My wife and I have been dinking with ponds for several years, but always terribly amateurish until a coupla years ago when we started over, with a lot of help from this forum. We're now just partly amateurish.

A couple of our goldfish have a grayish look to them which we assume is a thick slime coat. If that is what we think it is, then that's an indication that's something's not right.

So, we have a basic test kit. It's about a year old so not yet time to pitch it and get another. pH is a bit high this season at about 8. We tested in the morning and in the evening. Very little change. That should be an indication of good KH, from what I've read on the internets. We didn't know because we didn't have a KH kit. Got one this morning. API brand, just KH, supposedly fresh stock. Two drops and it went from blue to yellow. We couldn't believe it. Tried it again. Same results. According to the directions, 0 to 3 drops is

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Always good to test the pond and the source. Our well is very soft. Our pond has finally gotten a little harder.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States