Koi babies!

pondlover

Life is good today!
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
I am so excited. I got home from work today and my hubby said he thinks he saw a baby fish. Sure enough, I have counted 3 little guys. Well, not so little really. Maybe about an inch in length. I didn't even know they had spawned. :goldfish: :goldfish: I was trying to move lilly pads out of the way so I could see them. They are busy munching on the algae on the sides of pond.

Have no clue who the parents are, as this is my first time with spawning. lol As soon as I can I will try and get a picture of the little fellas. I sure love this pond stuff!!! :luxlove:

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
fish and koi talk is fine, Congradulations! It's so cool isn't it? We have raised 17 since they were a day old. We found them three days after we moved all the bigger fish from the old pond to the new one. then last week I noticed a few small babies in the big pond. today we noticed a small school of 1-1.5" babies. I'm seeing several different color combinations so I'm really trying to get some close looks. it's hard and each time you get a good look you get all excited wondering what they will turn out like. When you get some pics please post. Everyone likes seeing someone with some sucess at raising their own babies.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
congratsblink.gif
PL

pondlover

Life is good today!
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Larkin when can you tell if they are butterfly? Last night we definitely counted 4. It's very exciting and very surprising. I've read how everyone is seeing their fish spawn and I can honestly say that I haven't noticed any behavior like what I've read. They must have been secret spawners. :razz:

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States