Koi city

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We bought a lovely country home on the edge of Bodmin moor three years ago. In centre of garden is a swimming pool sized pond full of carp. At our last home, we had a natural, deep, self filling from rooves and filtered out through gravel beach pond full of frogs and goldfish etc. The koi in our pond have been there at least 16 years, we had problems with green water and fish eat any greenery that tries to grow such as water lilies and irises. Sorted green water but now larger fish are found floating with milky discharge coming from their mouths. Had water tested and advised we need a KH buffer, costing about £100 or so. Could someone tell me what a KH buffer is and what it does?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Oh, thanks, sorry. Trouble is I have no scientific knowledge, they only taught domestic science to girls when I was young - in 1950s. So it may be too 'deep' for me.

Smaug

God makes perfect. I just dug the hole
Reaction score
Country
United States
Time to learn real quick or hire a pond guy. That milky discharge coming out of mouth sounds bacterial. If you can post some pics that could be helpful, .what sort of filter does the pond have? How you sorted the green water would be helpful info.

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Had water tested and advised we need a KH buffer, costing about £100 or so. Could someone tell me what a KH buffer is and what it does?

Not sure what this refers to, especially costing 100 pounds. The addition of simple baking soda will usually maintain an adequate level of Alkalinity (buffering).
As for the fish, photos would help in identifying possible causes for the problem,

crsublette

coyotes call me Charles
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
Could someone tell me what a KH buffer is and what it does?