koi died

Reaction score
Country
United States
my boyfriend has had an outdoor Koi pond for 4 years. I moved in last year. I am new to all this. He had 4 and 1 died last week. Well, this morning I saw that another had died. I have one water lilt plant in the pond, but I also had a couple of potted plants on the rock around the pond. My question is: could me watering the potted plants and the water running into pond been the reason they both died? I feel so horrible! I should also include that he had 4 koi in a 100 gallon pond. I have done some research and read that koi need bigger living spaces. Help!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
I think you've identified the problem - koi need a MUCH bigger living space. At this point I'd suggest testing water parameters (ammonia, nitrite & ph at least. I'm betting on elevated ammonia) If I'm correct, then use Prime to detoxify & do a moderate water change. Hope for the best, but don't hold your breath, I'm sorry to say. If the other fish survive, they need to be 'rehomed' or you need a much larger pond, asap.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Welcome @Susan17 ! It's often pond or fish problems that bring people to the GPF, sadly. And yes - if those are indeed koi, then that pond is far too small. Are you SURE they're koi? Some people use "koi" like they use "Kleenex" - like any pond fish is a koi. The reason I ask is after four years koi should be like sardines in a can in that 100 gallon pond. They grow very big very fast. How big are they exactly?