Koi eating the plants?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
Austria
Hi Guys,

Not sure if this is the right place for this, but....

I've noticed that the plants in the pond are growing much more slowly this year compared to last. I've also noticed that the Koi we added last year (6 in total) spend a lot of time nosing around the plant baskets.

I suspect that they are eating the roots of the plants that are sticking out of the baskets, thereby damaging the plants and causing weak growth.

Has anyone else had experience of this? What's the best way to stop them doing this?

I've thought about using bigger baskets and lining them with a matting and heavy stones on the top...

cheers,

Andy.

Reaction score
I'm not an expert but from what I've read and observed a lot of fish will nibble on the plants, maybe even Koi especially. I see my Comets and Koi doing it, they regularly tear up the water cress beds, nibble on the lily pad stalks, and nibble/push around my floating water lettuce. The only plants I have "protected" are my water hyacinths, I have them in a milk crate in shallow water but that was just my experiment to see if they would flower being confined. I don't think you will stop the fish from doing what comes naturally. You can try protecting the plants various ways, maybe feed a little more? Plants are going to be part of their natural diet.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
my koi destroy plants they eat the roots and eat the plants .

GreatDanesDad

Electro-Mechanical Engineer
Reaction score