Koi fishes are now to scared to come out

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm pretty new to pond hobby. I've started with it just a month ago. I have a small pond with 7 koi fishes. I enjoy watching them everyday. They come out usually and run away when I get close to them. After almost a month of feeding them they still run away when I get close but at least they come out from the rock hiding place. I was happy.

Here is the problem. 2 days ago, my neighbors kids throwed some rocks on the pond and now I have not seen them come out of the rock. I usually put food on the pond and they will come out. I try to see in the rock, they are still there but they won't come out ever.:)

What should I do?

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
Throw rocks back at the kids! LOL, No really, It's going to take time for them to calm back down, the more hiding areas they have the more comfort they will feel. Also, If they are small try feeding from the same place, at the same time as much as possible, only feed a very few morsels, if they don't come out, don't feed, they will relate you with food and start coming back out. I do hear of some that have certain sounds they do when they approach the pond that makes the koi come to them. Yes fish can hear and koi are smart enough to relate that same noise as food is coming. Some whistle, some tap on the water, mine can hear out foot steps on the wood deck and they come running when they are comfortable and hungry. But if they have had something try and attack them through my cover they are very jittery for a few days before they calm back down.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States