Marshall

Turtle Keeper + CPL(H)
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
Zone 7b
Country
United States
I got a response on Facebook in reference to a photo set I put on there of my Koi and this guy who claims to be a Koi expert is telling me my black Koi is not a koi and there is no such think as a black koi :unsure: ? Now being a complete novice when it comes to koi I don't know if this guy is full of :poop: or not but I do know that I have 2 black fish that are exactly like my other koi and were labeled as koi when I bought them so, is this guy right ? or is he an idiot ? because like I said I am pretty sure my black koi are, well koi. I have even had a black goldfish before (moor) and I recall someone on this forum telling me that goldfish and koi are somewhat related. Anyway hopefully someone can help me out with this one.
Possibly @Dave 54 @Meyer Jordan might be able to find out for me ?
Thanks

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Well then my koi Bert with the whiskers must not be a koi either .This is not a good pic of him ,it was after I rebuilt the pond and he looks a little red on the back .He is not pure black though .He has another color on his fins and he changes to a lighter color during the warmer season .He used to be solid black but as he got older he changed .Which is normal .I know Eric Tripplet brought up black koi on one of his koi video's .

Attachments

• DSC00785.JPG
    DSC00785.JPG
    146.4 KB · Views: 260

Marshall

Turtle Keeper + CPL(H)
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
Zone 7b
Country
United States