Koi skin lacerations

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am new to the forum. I have recently joined forums for old cars and DIY things and found them immensely helpful, so I thought I would try this one. I am by no means an expert on ponds, Koi or goldfish, but I have been fortunate to have a pond at 2 different houses for the last 25 years with very few problems. I try to keep the pond clean and have in the past added salt when I saw some problems and that is about it. My current pond is about 1200 gallons.

I do now have a situation where one of my koi had a skin laceration and what looks like areas of irritation. I have previously changed out about half the water and added salt. I have attached a picture to show the problem. It isn't a great picture but I am having a problem keeping it still for a photo. It is small open wound with irritation in the surrounding area.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Art

Attachments

• sick fish.jpg
    sick fish.jpg
    84.7 KB · Views: 32

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1656627562890.gif
@ArtT
Can't tell really well but it doesn't look too horribly bad. I'm no expert on these things so wait for another to help you.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
That looks like it's either ulcerated or heading in that direction. How many koi do you have in your pond?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Eleven, four are small. I have been at this house with this pond 6 years. They are all the same fish although I did lose 2, one about a year ago one 4 months ago. Neither had any sign of disease although the last one that died was stuck in the skimmer for maybe a couple of days.

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Do you have rocks that could have sharp edges?