koi without dorsal fin

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6B
Country
United States
I have been keeping koi for the last 15 years and currently have a 10,000 gallon pond in PA. It was stocked with my 6-7 year old koi in 2016 which happily multiplied. This spring I caught a baby koi in the skimmer which lacked a dorsal fin like some of the fancy goldfish (lion heads, celestials, etc.). However, it still has the koi shape and although it doesn't have a perfect back minus the dorsal fin (very slight bumps on the back in two places) I can't find anything on the internet about koi without dorsal fins. This particular fish is currently in a 40 gallon breeder tank together with two other (perfectly normal) koi babies and they are all doing well. They eat well, they swim well and I can't distinguish any difference between the behavior of the normal koi versus the "abnormal" one. Has anyone ever come across a koi minus the dorsal fin?

Attachments

• koi without dorsal fin.2.JPG
    koi without dorsal fin.2.JPG
    161.8 KB · Views: 413
  • koi without dorsal fin.JPG
    koi without dorsal fin.JPG
    114.1 KB · Views: 695
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
Canada
Welcome!
I haven't seen that before in koi, but I would say just treat him/her as any other koi but watch out for any other deformities.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6B
Country
United States
Hi Mitch,
Thanks for your reply. I am not so much worried about other deformities, but more interested in possibly propagating this fish. Just as there are different shaped goldfish or long finned koi there could be intertest in dorsal-less koi. Specifically since this koi seems to be as healthy as the others, swims just as well, but it just looks different.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
2a
Country
Canada
I wish there was a site or forum I could direct you to for further instruction, but the sites I know of will be pretty critical towards any fish that falls outside of standard show koi standards.