Leaking pond...PLEASE HELP! Newbie!

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

***I AM A TOTAL NOVICE*** :bye2: ...and i need your advice ASAP to save my fish! :goldfish:

My name is Mark and I am a complete novice when it comes to ponds so please go easy on me!!! ;-)
Here is my story to fill you in really quick on our pond situation.
Bought a new house...it has a pond with fish and a waterfall feature.

Pond spec:
  • 4.5 foot deep approx
  • 10m2 area
  • black plastic liner
  • pond put in by previous owner about 10 years+ ago
  • pond is at ground level
  • water fall feature made from large stones...2ft drop approx
  • 130 small to medium (palm size) fish including lots of goldfish and one large koi (about 24ins in length)
  • using a velda clearwater 100 filter (size of a small dustbin), 2x UV's built in...it's a beast!
  • decent powerful pump (hozelock) can't remember the spec but it works superb and powers the water fall really well.
  • black reinforced flexi-hose from the pump to the filter and then from filter to waterfall.
  • We also have a huge plastic grid frame system which is on stilts and 'covers' the pond my 3 small children are safe. (was professionally installed)
So...here is the issue...very brief story.

The pump we inhertited failed and died.
The pump was running to a filter and then into the water fall.
The filter was also...disgraceful...apparently! :-(
Spoke to a supplier and they said the pump was too small for the pond.

So...I made an enquiry to a supplier..."What do I need please?"

Supplier "For that pond size you need this pump
(a hozelock, cant remember the spec but it is good and serves the waterfall spec, great pressure)
and a Velda 100 clearwater filter with 2x built in UV's."

"I said "Ok how much?"

"£1000"

Shit!...I didnt have that sort of money
so I bought a £150 hozelock pump and stuck that in...
we didn't connect it to the filter of water fall.

We just put it in the pond and turned it on. :disappointed_anim:

Yes, yes I know...