Leaves

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
I've only lived at this house that came with a goldfish pond for about seven months, and I'm a little new at taking care of the pond. The house is located literally in the woods with lots of mature hardwood trees all around. And so, with the change of season, there are oceans of leaves everywhere, and a lot of leaves have wound up in the bottom of the pond, and there are still lots of leaves on the trees yet to fall. The leaves haven't affected the water chemistry yet, and the fish are all currently fine. It's a thousand gallon pond with about 20 small common goldfish.

Yeah, I know, I need to get those leaves out before they start to rot, but vacuuming that pond is a bit of a job. Would it hurt to wait until most of the leaves are off of the trees before vacuuming it out?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
United States
That would be my suggestion as well

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
I agree about a net! Go to a pool supply place (or Lowe’s, HD, or Amazon) and look for a pool skimmer net — telescoping pole is good to have. Just don’t try to get them all out at one whack if there are a lot. They make great compost!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
I already have a net. Whenever possible, I skim the leaves before they sink, but a lot of leaves sink anyway before I can get to them. The bottom of the pond is very rocky and irregular. Anything short of a vacuum won't pick the leaves up.

So how long before they start to rot and adversely affect my water chemistry?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United States
If you sort of 'swoop' the net across the area the leaves are settled in, it will cause water currents that make them rise up & float around - then you can scoop them out with the net. If you have so many tight spaces that the above process doesn't work, or is impractical, then using long handled 'grabbers' might be an option?