Lost a fish, others lethargic

Reaction score
Hi All,

Apologies for the long post, I want to give as much info as possible! I am going to start by posting a copy and paste from my intro post so you can get as much info as possible on what we have as a pond, we are also complete novices on ponds, we have kept aquarium fish and raised tadpoles but that's it. I did quite a bit of research when we built the pond but it was a wildlife pond so there was never much thought given to raising fish (for example I know it is too shallow for the winter and will be using a bubble to keep the temperature up and bringing the minnows and perhaps the goldfish indoors):

'It is a small wildlife pond of approximately 150 litres (it's about a 100cm x 60cm x 35 cm), it was a little project for the kids a few months ago and stemmed from us rescuing some tadpoles and keeping them outside in 20 litre container. The pond is unfiltered but has a small solar powered fountain, it has a good amount of plants (more than I want but they keep being donated to my wife), there's 3 good bunches of Elodea, some reeds, water hyacinths (4 and growing) and another unidentified plant that is quite tall (it's top sticks out of the water) and it has quite broad oval leaves that grow in pairs off the stem.

The pond is about 30% covered by the hyacinths and the fountain and there are some rocks at the bottom with some hidey holes, though the plan was that this was a wildlife pond so no fish. I say was because we appear to have gained some minnows from somewhere (ducks have occasionally been seen having a dip but there must be at least 7 minnows now. I was actually quite grateful as they have taken care of the mosquito problem that was beginning to be an issue. On top of that we have also provided a home to 2 goldfish who were in a local pond that was going to be filled in.