Making a weeping water feature out of a large boulder

Reaction score
Country
Mexico
I am new to this process and am not sure how to proceed. I would really appreciate any input your pond community could provide.

I have a boulder in my backyard approx 5' high x 6' wide and want to convert it to a water feature. I live in Mexico so I do not have access to the best of Home Depot/Lowe's to get supplies. As such, I need to be somewhat creative/resourceful in how I proceed as I do not have access to the best equipment.

What I foresee is digging a "pond" around the boulder (at the front/sides of the rock) approx 1' deep. Then filling the hole with some "base sand" followed by a pond liner. I would install a pond pump connected to 1/2" pvc pipe running around the back of the boulder attached to a Rain-Bird 180 degree spray head to provide low volume water spraying over the top of the rock to allow the volume of water to trickle down the rock face.

The desired result would be to have a low flow water feature trickling off the flat face of the boulder into the pond below. Not too much flow and no fish; just enough to provide the calming "trickle" effect water feature flowing off the boulder face to the pond below.

Questions:

1. What is the best way to attach the pond liner to the boulder face to avoid water leakage? My thought was to cut the pond liner as tight as possible to to the base of the boulder (form fitted) and then line it with some thin field stone in the 1' hole to hide the liner.

2. What capacity pump would be sufficient to move water up a 1/2" pvc pipe to a spray head approx 5' above the pond height.

Any thoughts/suggestions would be sincerely appreciated as I am still very much in the design phase. If anyone has suggestions beyond my basic concept I would really appreciate your input.

boulder 1.JPG
boulder 2.JPG
boulder 3.JPG
boulder 4.JPG

Last edited:
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6a
Country
United States