Matching Pump to Oase Filtoclear 11000

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

So as seen in my previous thread, I am new to caring for a pond and both my filter and pump have blown!

I am now having trouble sizing the pump for my filter/pond size, and have calculated lots of figures but don't know how to equate them to which pump I need to buy.

I have a Oase Filtoclear 11000 which I have now repaired and (should be), as good as new, which sits midway between pond surface and top of waterfall.

Pump which blew was an Oase Aquamax ECO 8000

Pond Size - Irregular Shape - Max Width = 5ft, Max Length = 9ft, Max Depth = 2ft (= 2,500 ltr)
I have not averaged these measurements as I think my setup is already a bit overkill anyway

Waterfall Head Height = 3ft + approx 20ft hose length (overkill) = 2ft. Total - 5ft

Width of waterfall mouth = 10"

So I have:

Oase Filtoclear 10,000

Pond Volume = 2,500 ltr

Total head Height of Waterall = 5ft

Width of waterfall mouth = 10 inches

What size pump should I get which is appropriate to pump efficiently and also through a (slightly oversized I am guessing), filter?

Some different models would help also, thank you!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Currently looking at the below as I think my filter largely dictates my pump size, and I know that my Aquamax 8000 was a match for the Filtoclear 11000 (is it possible to have a filter/pump set up which is too big?):

For a 2,500 ltr pond - several goldfish, some plants, partial shade:

Laguna Max-Flo 9000
Oase Aquamax ECO 8500

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
There is no such thing as too much biofiltration. That being said and the fact that you already have a filter larger than the minimal requirement, your only concern is the pump size.