Maximum Number of fish per size of pond


Ad

Advertisements

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
5,195
Reaction score
1,598
Location
Hammond LA USA
Hardiness Zone
8a
I recommend no more than 1 inch of fish per 20 gallons of water, But, keep in mind, Fish grow, So if you buy 2" goldfish and stocked at half that rate you would be HEAVILY overstocked at the end of a single season. If your stocking Koi 1 fish (4-6")per 100 gallons is about the max I would go. and again, If they all grow at regular rate you would be overstocked in about two years. For better health, ease of maintenance, more enjoyment, and more balanced pond stay way below these #'s. Overstocking may look good until a problem starts, then all of a sudden, Overstocking doesn't look so well when fish are getting sick, dying and your out there cleaning the pond twice a day everyday.
 

DrDave

Innovator
Moderator
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
6,842
Reaction score
105
Location
Fallbrook, Ca USA
I have about 200" in 1800 gallons and they are all in perfect health. I just took out 29" a week ago.
The key to having this many is a good bio filter, circulation and plants. Keep the bottom clean.
 

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
5,195
Reaction score
1,598
Location
Hammond LA USA
Hardiness Zone
8a
Dr. Dave brings out a point I would like to make and I think he will back this as well. His pond and my pond are well established ponds with filtration we KNOW works and have determined can handle the loads we put on them. With experienced fish keepers that know how to tell where the pond boundaries are. I have seen a pond that was 1750 gallons and grossly overstocked with three fish!, due to poor filtration, You will see dealers stock two or three times the rates we stock for selling purposes and must monitor their water quality very closely. There is NO true stocking rate of fish per gallon, I use that base line as a rule of thumb with my experience. For newer ponds, and newer fish keepers it's always safer to have more room for the fish than not enough.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
75
Reaction score
1
Location
Upstate New York - Near Canadian Border
Hi: Thank everyone for your replies. I was going to post a couple photos of pond but can't figure out how to post them on my reply. Anyway I think I have about 50 to 70 fish in all. I started out 3 yrs ago with 13 small goldfish and added a coulple Shubunkins the next year. Now I think there are about 50 to 70 fish in all. They have also grown with many of them at least 6" to 8" long. I'm sure they will grow by many more this summer. I have been comtemplating how and what I will have to do to thin them out (like give to pet store etc) or find somebody near me that has pond and would like some stock. I am also fighting Green & Murky water for the past month. I purchased a new filter to start this season - Aquadyne Bead Filter with Blower. It was suppose to be top of the line and could support ponds my size or even a little larger. I also have Strapping filling the bio filter at the waterfall with a couple media pads at top of waterfall as well. At first the water was so crystal clear it ws unbelieveable . After about 2 weeks the water started getting murky and I couldn't see much below about a foot or two below surface. I have to backwash every couple days as the flow of water slows to a trickle (even though the filter pressure) doesn't rise more then 2 lbs. I have to change the media pads weekly as they are covered with black & green slime and hundreds of brown leeches. I did add a couple of pints of Barley Extract a couple days ago and it seemed to clear up the top couple feet but still can;'t see and further down. It sure is a struggle. I have to also plead guilty in not checking the water this season so I don't know just how bad it might be out of wack. That's about it in a nutshell & if someone can tell me how to post a photo I'll put one one. Thanks again for everyone's input.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
75
Reaction score
1
Location
Upstate New York - Near Canadian Border
Hi Addy: Thanks for your reply: I did go out and check the water and the PH is ideal and the Amonia also appears to be in the Ideal range (barely a tint of anything). I'm trying to post a phot of pond as well but not sure if I can get it to work. I'll try again. Thanks..
 

DrDave

Innovator
Moderator
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
6,842
Reaction score
105
Location
Fallbrook, Ca USA
Fishin made 2 great points, a baseline for beginners and folks who really don't have a handle on their ponds (years in the hobby does not make an expert).

Then there are the folks who have devoted a lot of time to get their ponds tuned in and understand how the entire eco system really works. These folks can also react positivley to any changes that may effect the health of the pond and it's occupants.

I rescue Koi from a lot of ponders that thought it would be neat to fill a hole with water and toss in a bunch of fish to make it look cool. Then never did anything to learn how to maintain them. Sooner or later, they either lose the fish or give up. The smart ones call me and I find homes for the Koi after bringing them back to perfect health.

The 29" (2 Koi) I just removed from my pond, went to a new member of our forum.
 

taherrmann4

Tmann
Joined
Mar 3, 2011
Messages
3,142
Reaction score
699
Location
Louisville KY
Hardiness Zone
6
Country
United States
bobsox said:
I got to the browse for files section - selected the two photos - and it said uploading but when it finished and I send msg there were no photos attached??

They may have been too big of files try reducing them.
 
Ad

Advertisements

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
5,195
Reaction score
1,598
Location
Hammond LA USA
Hardiness Zone
8a
I just got through resizing EVERY single picture in my harddrive and computer. All 13,500+ of them, took me almost two hours to do this but I got tired of failed attempts. been trying to update my album and every other photo wouldn't load. 800 mega pixels by 800 mega pixels will work.
 

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Donor
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
43,217
Reaction score
27,733
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
bobsox said:
Thanks Taherrmman4 for the tip but I still cant seem to be able to reduce the size in order to upload any photos..


You can also put them on photobucket and post the ...img code... in your post.
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
75
Reaction score
1
Location
Upstate New York - Near Canadian Border
fishin4cars said:
I just got through resizing EVERY single picture in my harddrive and computer. All 13,500+ of them, took me almost two hours to do this but I got tired of failed attempts. been trying to update my album and every other photo wouldn't load. 800 mega pixels by 800 mega pixels will work.

How do you resize any of the JPEG photos in you photo file so you can upload one here? Thanks
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
768
Reaction score
354
Location
cumbria, united kingdom
isnt fish stocking rates more effected by surface area than just gallonage ?? sure i read somewhere about a certain length of fish to a certain square area of surface water, was it 12 square inches to 1 inch of fish ?? carnt remember, i mean when people say so many fish to every so many gallon, but i could have a 10000 gallon pond that is only 4mx4m but about 4m deep, ( i know them measurements are not accurate but you get the point i am trying to make) and there fore wouldnt have the surface area the the fish stocked by gallonage ratio !
 
Ad

Advertisements

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Moderator
Donor
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
43,217
Reaction score
27,733
Location
Frederick, Maryland
Showcase(s):
1
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
bobsox said:
How do you resize any of the JPEG photos in you photo file so you can upload one here? Thanks

You need a photo program, most computers come with a basic program to work on your photos.

Or get a free photo bucket account up load the photos to it and past the img code in your thread.

photobucket.com
 

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
5,195
Reaction score
1,598
Location
Hammond LA USA
Hardiness Zone
8a
bobsox said:
How do you resize any of the JPEG photos in you photo file so you can upload one here? Thanks
I used Windows pictures program, Only took four hours to do all the pictures at one time. Did it work? I'm still trying to get back to what I was doing to see. got hit with a bad Thunderstorm last night at 8:30 and didn't get power back until 8am this morning, Been up all night keeping fish alive.
mogsie said:
isnt fish stocking rates more effected by surface area than just gallonage ?? sure i read somewhere about a certain length of fish to a certain square area of surface water, was it 12 square inches to 1 inch of fish ?? carnt remember, i mean when people say so many fish to every so many gallon, but i could have a 10000 gallon pond that is only 4mx4m but about 4m deep, ( i know them measurements are not accurate but you get the point i am trying to make) and there fore wouldnt have the surface area the the fish stocked by gallonage ratio !
This is actually far more accurate way of determining stocking rates by formula, I just never could concept the whole sq. ft surface area formula.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
37
Reaction score
0
Location
Illinois
I use Photoshop Elements 9 to edit and resize my photos. For the photos that I want to get printed I first edit them and then rename them and save them to the maximum jpeg quality. For the the photos that I want to put on the web I resize my edited photos to 750 pixels at their widest and then save them at around 250 kb's in size. You always want to keep your original photo as was shot from the camera just in case you have to go back and re edit the photo.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads


Top